The Happiness Conundrum

Today I just want to express how amazing life is! Like a crazed lunatic running around with a billboard on my chest, I want to declare to everyone how much beauty there is in the world, so many fascinating things to see, so many interesting, amazing and quirky people to observe and meet. So many beautiful wonderful people in this world who care more for others than themselves.

Today is one of those days I feel like my heart is exploding with joy and love for people, God and His wonderful creation.

It’s hard to explain these feelings. I know it’s not related to my personal happiness or as a result of positive circumstances as 2012 has been the most challenging year of my life so far, with a lot of sadness, turmoil, sickness, tears and grief being present.

Yet I know that there is a deep satisfaction that I feel in my being that comes from somewhere that is beyond little Donny Shaw.

I read a quote recently that I think helps explain the happiness conundrum:

“The difference between shallow happiness and deep sustaining joy is sorrow. Happiness lives where sorrow is not. When sorrow arrives, happiness dies. It can’t stand pain. Joy, on the other hand, rises from sorrow and therefore can withstand all grief. Joy, by the grace of God, is the transfiguration of suffering into endurance, and of endurance into character, and of character into hope– and the hope that has become our joy does not (as happiness must for those who depend upon it) disappoint us.” Walter Wangrin, Reliving the Passion.

Thanks Wally, The Donoman and his dancing heart fully and blissfully concurs.

I would like to sincerely thank my thesaurus for offering up that exceedingly delicious word ‘conundrum’ to use in this post. It’s a word I have wanted to use for a long time.

Bye for now.

2 thoughts on “The Happiness Conundrum

Leave a Reply

