My Personal Manifesto – This Is What I Believe

After living almost 47 years of life on this amazing, spinning, orbiting, incredible planet we call earth, being confronted with the harsh realities of life at an early age, carrying out disturbing in depth studies of man’s deplorable depravity, becoming aware of my own weaknesses, listening to the opinions of many, reading countless books, considering the irreducible complexity of design, witnessing the unfathomable beauty of nature, visiting numerous countries and observing the lives of many, I have come to some conclusions. The foremost of my thoughts is this: true Christianity – not religion, but Christianity as taught by Jesus of Bethlehem and Nazareth, specifically, loving people and God, doing good to others and accepting his amazing free gift of grace – is the often unseen but very real and active force that is woven into history and works behind the scenes in the lives of countless people. It brings meaningful and positive change to situations and to nations, but most importantly to people who God created and loves immensely with a passion that we are not yet able to fully realise. It is not subject to class, race, political persuasion or economic status. It’s a physical thing in the sense that those so possessed carry out unselfish acts of true love to their neighbours, and yet there is also a mysterious spiritual element to it as well. Call me crazy or deceived, but I believe to the core of my being that it is real and it exists, that it’s a good thing, that it gives my life a strong sense of meaning and an inner joy that I cannot truly explain. My often broken and tattered existence has been given hope, purpose and meaning. I know that God is good and that He is Love. My body will decay but my soul is at peace and my spirit looks towards eternity.

8 thoughts on “My Personal Manifesto – This Is What I Believe

Leave a Reply

